Jan's adventures in Oz

Travel to Sydney

Ferry between downtown and North SydneyThe Cisco BuildingView from Harbourside ApartmentsMy new abode

As trips go, the way over was fairly uneventful.  Qantas, the Australian airline, is much improved since my last visit 3 years ago.  I somehow ended up in the high class version of economy seating…lots of leg room, fancy dishes and linen, champagne.  The bad news was I had the window seat and my companion on the aisle slept for hours on end which made it impossible to visit the head!  Oh well, live and learn.

I had an awesome cab driver bring me to my apartments from the airport.  I learned a lot about Sydney, the price of cars and petrol…Its roughly double the price of gas in the USA. The driver turned out to be Greek Orthodox, so I learned a bit about the Orthodox community here and what his wife cooks.

Upon arriving at the Harbourside Apartments, I unpacked, and took a bit of a walkabout in McMahon’s Point.  I did some shopping and ended up right next door to the Cisco building, which I will visit tomorrow.  The McMahons neighborhood is quite charming.  Lots of restaurants and shops. The people are very friendly and helpful.  The harbour, Lavendar Bay, is quite beautiful with the ferries, sailboats, bridge and Opera House all right in front of me!  Too bad I can’t just live here, but maybe I can find an apartment to rent in this area.

Leave a comment